Buttered fried chicken by me

I usually don’t cook. I love baking more than cooking, partly because of the after smell cooking brings to my fingers and because I can dip a clean finger in a baking mixture and try a free taste. I rarely cook a dish. The only dish I cooked by myself would start way back from elementary days: Estofadong Liempo, and I won’t forget that.

But because of many realizations and being exposed to much media now, I think I want to try out gourmet cooking one day. And it starts from one simple step: cooking up Buttered Fried Chicken for dinner.

Fried chickens are too mainstream, from fastfood restaurants to an easy-to-prepare chicken dish only to be coated with breading mixes. I want to try out a fried chicken out of the norm. When I found a small bottle of turmeric powder in our kitchen cabinets, I knew what to do.

And voila! I was able to cook the second dish I made my entire life, which, my sister (a chicken foodie, by the way) loved so much. Warning: not for health-conscious people, it’s bathed in butter plus fats plus cholesterol and what-not.

Image

Thanks to the Magnolia website for the recipe!

Ingredients

1 kilo Magnolia Chicken Cut-ups, assorted parts
1 tbsp Calamansi
1 tbsp Garlic, chopped
2 tsp Ginger, chopped
½ tsp Salt
½ tsp Pepper
Magnolia Nutri-oil for deep-frying
2 pc         Egg, slightly beaten
½ cup Cornstarch

½ cup Magnolia Butter-licious!, melted

Procedure

  1. Marinate the Chicken Ups in calamansi, garlic, ginger, salt and pepper for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Dip chicken in beaten eggs and roll in cornstarch.
  3. Deep fry chicken until golden and cooked through then drain in paper towels.
  4. Toss fried chicken in melted butter. Serve hot.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

